Armenian Assembly Congratulates President-Elect Donald J. Trump

Armenian Caucus Members are

WASHINGTON, D.C. – After a long, close, and hard fought
presidential race, Republican nominee Donald J. Trump, early Wednesday morning,
surpassed the requisite number of Electoral College votes needed to win the
presidency over Democratic nominee Hillary Clinton, reported the Armenian
Assembly of America (Assembly). In addition to the White House, Republicans
retained their majorities in the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S.
Senate although by smaller margins.  

congratulate president-elect Trump and his running mate Mike Pence, and we
commend American Armenians who participated in the election process throughout
the country,” stated Assembly Co-Chairs Anthony Barsamian and Van Krikorian.

“In his
victory speech, president-elect Trump’s call for national unity was gracious
and is welcome. During the campaign, president-elect Trump recognized Turkey’s
ties to ISIS, as well as its increasingly authoritarian regime. In addition to
Turkey, President Trump will also need to address Azerbaijan’s sharp
deterioration and its links with ISIS. Both countries pose a threat to stability
in the region,” Co-Chairs Barsamian and Krikorian added.  

“In view of
the insecurity in the region, it is vitally important that Christians and
minority communities at risk be protected and we urge the new Administration
and new Congress to take steps to safeguard these vulnerable communities,” the
Co-Chairs continued.

In the House
of Representatives, the Members of the Congressional Caucus on Armenian issues
had a strong showing with the overwhelming majority of those seeking
re-election winning, including Co-Chairs Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ), Jackie
Speier (D-CA), David Valadao (R-CA) and Vice Co-Chairs Adam Schiff (D-CA) and
Dave Trott (R-MI).  Armenian Caucus
Co-Chair Robert Dold (R-IL) facing a re-match with Democrat Brad Schneider did
not win, nor did his Senate colleague Mark Kirk (R-IL). Meanwhile, Armenian
Caucus Member Chris Van Hollen (D-MD) handily won his election to the United
States Senate having defeated Turkish Caucus Congresswoman Donna Edwards in the
Maryland primary
. In addition, Caucus Member Janice Hahn (D-CA) won her bid for
Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors.

congratulate the Members of the Armenian Caucus on their victories. We are proud
to have two Members of Armenian descent in the House of Representatives, namely
Anna Eshoo and Jackie Speier. Armenian American Danny Tarkanian, however, did
not prevail in Nevada,” stated Armenian Assembly Executive Director Bryan
Ardouny. “We also appreciate the strong support of our friends who will not be
returning to Congress and wish them every success.”

In addition
to a strong showing on the House side, pro-Armenia candidates also won in the
Senate. Apart from Van Hollen, Armenian Genocide resolution cosponsors Senators
Michael Bennet (D-CO), Marco Rubio (R-FL), and long-time supporter of Armenian
issues Chuck Schumer (D-NY) were all re-elected.

in 1972, the Armenian Assembly of America is the largest Washington-based
nationwide organization promoting public understanding and awareness of
Armenian issues. The Assembly is a non-partisan, 501©(3) tax-exempt
membership organization.

Leave a Reply